Current Project

Here are a couple of “before” pictures of my latest project:
Grandma BeforeGrandma Cab Before
My grandmother purchased this Florence Rotary new in 1914. She died in 1981 and the machine was neglected for roughly 30 years, spending most of its time in a shed where it suffered some water damage. My Dad was able to acquire it for me from a cousin last month. I can’t even begin to explain what an undertaking THAT was! I brought the machine head home in my carry-on and have it cleaned up and stitching. Dad is finishing up the cabinet restore at his home in Iowa. I cannot wait to get machine and cabinet reunited!

Dad said Grandma could make the machine “fly”. It sat in the corner of her dining room and made clothes for eight children and who knows how many grandkids. My plan is to piece MY granddaughter’s wedding quilt on it and then give both quilt and machine to her when she marries. She is only 10, so I will have some years to enjoy it between now and then.

3 thoughts on “Current Project

Leave a comment